Aircraft Maintenance Engineer Courses in UK, USA, India

In this video I list some of the options available to you if you aspire to be an Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME).  This is a follow up video to one I made last October – Aircraft Engineer Salary – Salaries for Aircraft Maintenance Engineers ( – which received a lot of views and comments.

It was clear from the response to it that there is a need for clarification on this subject, so this video has been produced to answer more questions.

In a moment I will list the courses available in various countries around the globe but first let’s summarise what we mean by Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (AME) or Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (LAME).

Just as pilots and air traffic controllers need to be licenced in order to operate safely so too do aviation engineers or technicians.

The term engineer and technician mean the same thing in the aviation industry.

The technicians and engineers who service aircraft carry out crucial tasks that must be of the highest standards so it follows that they need to be trained by approved training organisations, and licensed by the national aviation authority in the country in which they operate.

Some of these licences are recognised globally by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) but there are regional variations too.

Here are some definitions of the licence types and their requirements.

These are specific to countries governed by the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) so check with your national civil aviation authority for any variations.

A Ramp or Line Maintenance Certifying Mechanic is someone with a Category A Licence obtained after a six month approved course and one year of certified experience.

This enables them to carry out minor maintenance tasks and part replacements on operational aircraft between major servicing, and to certify the work done.

Candidates can also study in their own time or choose a modular course, in which case they would need three years of certified experience in order to qualify.

Category A engineers can elect to specialise in these subjects:

A1 Fixed Wing Aircraft with Turbine Engines.

A2 Fixed Wing Aircraft with Piston Engines.

A3 Rotary Wing Helicopters with Turbine Engines.

A4 Rotary Wing Helicopters with Piston Engines.

To carry out more complex tasks, major overhauls and re-fits you need be a licenced Base Maintenance Certifying Technician.

Continued in the video…


Would you like me to make a video like this for you?
Turn press releases, blog posts, product descriptions etc into videos and infomercials.

For details and prices visit:

Would you like to sponsor more videos like this? Please visit: for details.


My YouTube Filming Kit:
Content Samurai:

My YouTube Channel Information:
Subscribe to my channel:
My most recent upload:
My most popular upload:

My Playlists:
Flight Training, Private and Commercial Pilot:
Learn To Fly, Get Your Pilot’s Licence:
General Aviation:
Aviation Careers:
Career Training and Business Tools:

My Social Media Links:
Twitter (me):
Twitter (my business):

Interested in Unmanned Technology? Drones in the air, on the land, in the sea, and in space? Want to reach out to more clients & customers?
SUPPLIERS, manufacturers, etc – Join Drone Major Group:
DRONE PILOTS, student pilots, solo operators etc – Join SUAS Global:

This presentation contains images that were used under a Creative Commons License. Click here to see the full list of images and attributions:

This presentation may also include video clips licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license and/or video clips of our own.

As an Amazon Associate, Udemy, and iTunes affiliate I earn a small commission from qualifying purchases. If you click through a link I share I may earn some commission from the sale. It doesn’t affect the price you pay.